North Carolina is a “fault” state when determining who is responsible in the event of a motor vehicle accident. The person who is found at fault for an accident may be liable for damages to the non-responsible party’s property and/or health.
“Accidents can happen to anyone. The person who is at fault does not have to shoulder the cost of compensation alone,” said Thomas D. Bumgardner, Ballantyne personal injury lawyer. “In many cases, the bill will fall with the insurance company.”
Minimum Car Insurance Requirements
There is a minimum set of criteria that a driver’s insurance must meet in order to legally operate a vehicle in North Carolina. Keep in mind, the following numbers are a minimum set of requirements. If you are found at fault and the claim exceeds your coverage, you may be required to pay the remaining balance out of your personal assets.
- $25,000 worth of coverage for the injury or death of a person. This can include yourself, a passenger, another driver and/or even a pedestrian.
- $25,000 worth of coverage for all property damage. If your vehicle incurs $10,000 worth of damage and the other vehicle requires $12,000 to fix, the total is $22,000 of property damage.
- 60,000 worth of coverage for all damages in a single accident. For example, if the accident causes $10,000 of property damage and the victim has $25,000 in medical bills, the total amount of the accident equals $35,000.
How Liability Works in NC
If you have been in an accident and the person who is at fault is properly insured, the insurance company is liable for compensation for damages. A claim can be filed in one of three ways:
- You file a claim with your insurer. Your insurer will seek reimbursement from the at-fault driver’s insurer.
- You file a claim directly with the other driver’s insurer.
- You file a personal injury lawsuit against the driver.
After an Accident, Call a Personal Injury Attorney
Before you contact any insurance companies or file any claims, it is important to contact a personal injury attorney. Be sure to collect a police report, medical bills that were incurred as a result of the accident and any contact information from witnesses. An experienced lawyer will be able to determine the best course of action.
Thomas D. Bumgardner has been practicing personal injury law for Charlotte and Ballantyne residents for years. Thomas places the utmost importance on getting his clients the justice they deserve. Call (704) 870-4779 today for your free consultation