Getting a DUI (driving under the influence) or a DWI (driving while intoxicated) can be a frightening experience. With the blue lights flashing, your hands trembling and your mind racing, your whole future can hang in the balance. One charge and it could cost you your job, your license, your reputation and a boatload of money – if you don’t have the right lawyer. If you’ve been charged with a DUI or a DWI, you need a Ballantyne DUI attorney that knows the ins and outs of the law. You need the Law Office of Thomas D. Bumgardner.
At our South Charlotte law office, we specialize in DUIs, DWIs and other traffic violations. We will fight for your rights to ensure the best result is attained in your case. We never attempt to simply plea bargain and take an easy deal. We fight for a dismissal if possible, which is the best way to minimize the damage.
The Queen City is a hard place not to have a drink or two. Between our excellent selection of local beer, our award-winning restaurants, dirt-cheap drink specials and lively neighborhoods, alcohol is available and consumption is encouraged. For those who decide to do it responsibly, a night out in Charlotte can be fun filled and safe, but for those who have “one too many,” it can turn into a living nightmare.
Every year about 3,000 people are arrested for driving intoxicated in Mecklenburg County, and if you ask the CMPD, this number is only going to increase as they continue to crack down on drunk driving. As devastating as a DUI/DWI can be, it is still one of the few laws that is so easily ignored or forgotten. In case you need a reminder, here is what the North Carolina law has to say about drinking and driving:
- $10,000 maximum fine for DWI.
- 60 days to 1 year license suspension.
- 30-day driving license revocation if you refuse to take the alcohol or drug test requested by an officer.
- No one can have a blood alcohol content of 0.08 or higher or 0.01 if underage.
- Vehicles can be seized and forfeited if you are arrested for a DWI.
These are the basic penalties for first-time offenders. North Carolina’s sentencing procedures for impaired drivers is complex, and penalties get more severe with each offense.
If you’ve recently found yourself on the wrong side of a breathalyzer test, our Ballantyne DUI attorney can help. Thomas Bumgardner as several years representing clients with DUIs and DWIs and has a proven track record of success. For more information or to schedule a free consultation, call (704) 870-4779. You don’t have to let a DUI/DWI ruin your life!